About Us
East Union Mennonite Church was founded in 1932.
Church History
The Living Cross is a relatively new tradition, created by the congregation on Easter Sunday. We celebrate Jesus’ victory over death and his presence in our lives today.
Our Goodly Heritage is a book about the history of East Union, written in 1984 for the Centennial Celebration. The book cover was designed and painted by the author, L. Glen Guengerich, and is available to check out at the East Union Library.
East Union has a great tradition of preparing and sharing wonderful meals. The congregation has published two cookbooks, pictured here.
East Union has a strong musical tradition, and some of the historical hymnals are pictured here. We continue the tradition today through worship with four part congregational harmony, our choir, special groups, our contemporary worship band Stirred.
Prairie Dale School was the first meeting place in 1885.
The first Union Church was built in 1889.
The second East Union building was built in 1912.
In 1922, the brick building was replaced with this new building.
In 1959, the east entrance, bathrooms and kitchen were remodeled.
In 1973, East Union completed a renovation and addition project.
In 2000, East Union began another renovation and addition.
